Tuesday, March 1, 2011

More Good Pro-Life Legislation Wednesday

The House Judiciary Committee will be holding a full Committee markup of H.R. 3, the "NO TAXPAYER FUNDING FOR ABORTION ACT," on Wednesday, March 2, 2011 at 10:15 AM in room 2141 of the Rayburn Building. A list of Members of the Judiciary Committee can be found here. (There are no pro-life Democrats on Judiciary and all Republicans on the Committee are pro-life.)

H.R. 3 is a government-wide permanent prohibition on taxpayer funding for abortion introduced by Reps. Chris Smith (R-NJ) and Dan Lipinski (D-IL). So far, 208 Members of Congress have joined Smith and Lipinski as co-sponsors of H.R. 3.

This strong legislation should be passed by the Congress; however, the following Members co-sponsored the "NO TAXPAYER FUNDING FOR ABORTION ACT" in the last Congress, but have not yet co-sponsored it this year: Altmire (PA), Bilbray (CA), Camp (MI), Cuellar (TX), Culberson (TX), Graves, T. (GA), Issa (CA), Lewis, J. (CA), Lummis (WY), Mica (FL), Paulsen (MN), Rehberg (MT), Rohrabacher (CA), Rooney (FL), Upton (MI). (Republicans are Italic and bolded.)

The following Freshman Republicans also have not yet co-sponsored the "NO TAXPAYER FUNDING FOR ABORTION ACT:" Adams (FL), Bass C. (NH), Bucshon (IN), Dold (IL), Gibson (NY), Guinta (NH), Hanna (NY), Hayworth (NY), Heck (NV), Herrera (WA), Meehan (PA), Nugent (FL), Reed (NY), Renacci (OH), Runyan (NJ), Tipton (CO), Webster (FL), Yoder (KS).

These co-sponsors are very important when the bill reaches the floor of the House.

ACTION: If your Congressman is on the list as having not yet sponsored HR 3, please email him/her and urge him/her to co-sponsor either as a returning sponsor or a new one. Thanks!

No comments:

Post a Comment